Security Guard Training Tips
Best Security Guard Training , Tips and Jobs
   Home            Armed Security Guard State Requirements
 

Armed Security Guard State Requirements.

Alabama  to  Wyoming.

 

ALABAMA

Alabama does require a state license for an armed security guard

The state agency that handles the license and can offer you the most information is The Alabama Security Regulatory Board, in Montgomery.  Their phone number is: (334) 269-9990  -   Website:  www.ASRB.alabama.gov

You will be required to obtain state certified training and meet the following requirements:

  • Minimum age of 21 years old.
  • Have a valid Alabama driver’s license.
  • Obtain a state hand gun license w/permit to carry.
  • Be a high school graduate or have a GED.
  • Complete a written application.
  • Complete the required hours of training at a state approved security guard school.
  • Have a valid social security number.
  • Submit to a criminal and personal background check.
  • You can have NO felony convictions.

Due to more responsibility and a higher insurance requirement, the armed security guard is required to have more training than the unarmed security guard. Armed security guard training will require the following:

  • State law and ethical practices with the public.
  • Private security for individuals
  • State law involving the use of force and weapons.
  • Medical and fire emergencies.
  • Weapons proficiency.
  • State law pertaining to detainment and arrest
  • The correct procedure to write and submit reports.
ALASKA

Alaska does require all security guards to be licensed.  The DPS is responsible for all licensing.  They can be contacted in Anchorage or in Juneau.  Their phone numbers are:  (907) 269-5086 or (907) 465-4322  Their website is:    http://www.dps.state.ak.us/statewide/permitslicensing/securityguard.aspx

In order to receive a license, each applicant must be:

  • Minimum of 18 years old.
  • Neither addicted to nor dependent on alcohol, narcotics, or other drugs.
  • Have no felony conviction.
  • Furnish information certifying that you  meet the insurance or bond requirements.
  • Complete the application and be subject to a background check.
  • Upon approval of the application, a license identification card will be issued to the licensee with the form and content of the card prescribed by the licensing department. The license identification card remains the property of the state and cannot be transferred to another individual.

    For an armed security guard license, the requirements of an unarmed security guard must be met.  You must have at least eight hours of training in the use of firearms in compliance with state and federal statutes.  If you fail to maintain competence with that firearm during annual practice firing reviews, your license is subject to revocation.

    ARIZONA

    Arizona requires any person working as an armed security guard to be licensed by the Arizona Department of Public Safety.  The DPS licensing website is:     http://licensing.azdps.gov/  or you can call:  (602) 223-2361

    You need to obtain training at a state certified training school.  The school must include 8 hours of security and 16 hours of weapons training.

    • Be at least 21 years old.
    • Have a high school diploma or GED.
    • Never been convicted of a felony.
    • Never been dishonorably discharged from the military.
    • Submit to a background check.
    • Be a U.S. citizen and resident of the state.
    ARKANSAS

    All security guards in Arkansas must have a state license.

    The armed security guard license is issued by the Arkansas Department of Public Safety. You will need to complete a state certified security officer course.   The training for an armed security guard in the state of Arkansas requires more training than the unarmed guard due to the larger risk, and this includes weapon training.  For more information contact:

    Arkansas Board of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies ,  #1 State Police Plaza Dr. ,  Little Rock, Arkansas.  Phone number:   (501) 618-8600         Web Address :   http://www,asp.state.ar.us/

     You must also meet the following requirements: 

    • Be at least 21 years old.
    • Have a high school diploma or GED.
    • Be a U.S. citizen and state resident.
    • Submit to a background check.
    • No felony convictions.

    CALIFORNIA

    California requires all security guards to be state licensed.

    The California armed security guard license is overseen by the Department of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Security and Investigative Services for both armed and unarmed security guards. You must complete 40 hours of state certified training.  Have a high school diploma or GEDHave no criminal convictions.  Be a U.S. citizen and resident of California.  Submit to a background check.  Have a valid California driver’s license.

    As a armed  security guard you must obtain a weapons permit and required training.  There are also permits required to carry tear gas and a baton.

     For more information contact:     Licensing Division, Bureau of Security and Investigative Services  in  Sacramento.  Website:      http://www.bsis.ca.gov/industries_regulated/ppo.shtml

    COLORADO

    Colorado requires all security guards to be state licensed.

    In the State of Colorado the licensing of the armed security guard is done on a city level, rather than a state level. Application is made at the City Clerk’s Office.

    •  Minimum of 18 years old.

    •  Be a U.S. citizen and a resident of Colorado.

    •  Have a valid Colorado driver’s license.

    •  A valid social security number.

    •  Expect an FBI style background check

    •  Must submit a health certificate by a licensed physician.

    You must also submit three letters of reference from non-family.  You will also need a letter of intent to hire from a licensed security company.  The letter must detail where you will be working and your duties. 

    CONNECTICUT

    The state of Connecticut requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The licensing of security guards fall under the Connecticut Department of Public Safety, Division of State Police, Special Licensing and Firearms.  They are located in Meriden and their website is:    http://www.ct.gov/dps/site/default.asp

    Requirements are:

    1. Complete the state required training (30 hours).
    2. Complete a written exam.
    3. Must be at least 21 years old.
    4. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    5. Have a state background check.
    6. Be a U.S. citizen and state resident.
    7. No felony convictions.
    8. Complete the required weapons training.
    9. Obtain a weapons permit.
    DELAWARE

    Delaware does require all security guards to be licensed.

    The Delaware Department of Public Safety will issue the license for security guards.  For more information contact:  The Delaware State Police in Dover.  Their phone number is (302) 736-5900

    Website:  http://www.state.de.us/govem/agencies/pubsafe/dsp/indxdsp.htm

    Requirements are:

    1. Complete the state certified course of training.
    2. Complete a written exam.
    3. Must be at least 21 years old.
    4. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    5. Have a state background check.
    6. Be a U.S. citizen and state resident.
    7. No felony convictions.
    8. Complete the required weapons training for armed guards.
    9. Obtain a weapons permit for armed guards.
    DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

    No license requirement for individual security guards.

    The District of Columbia does not require any state license or state registration to work as a security guard.  Each licensed security employer will register their guards with the district officials.

    For further information contact The Metro Police (Security Officers Management  Dept.) at (202) 939-8722.

    FLORIDA

    All armed security guards in Florida must have a Class G License.

    The license is regulated by The Department of State, Division of Licensing.  They are located in Tallahassee and their phone number is (904) 488-5381.  Website:    http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/index.html
    The license is issued by The Florida Department of Agriculture.

    The Class D License requires you to complete the following:

    Complete state certified armed security guard training.
    You must be at least 21 years old.
    Firearms training.
    Have no criminal history.
    Be a U.S. citizen and resident of the state.
    Submit to a background check.

    GEORGIA

    Georgia requires all security guards to be licensed.

    Contact The Georgia Board of Private Security Agencies for detailed information.  They are located in Atlanta and their phone number is (404) 656-2282.  Website:   http;//www.sos.georgia.gov/plb/detective/

    Requirements:

    1. Must be 18 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Complete state certified training (either armed or unarmed)
    4. Full background check.
    5. Valid photo I.D., a U.S. citizen and resident of the state.

    There are three different types of license for a security guard.

    1. Employee-In-House Security Guard.
    2. Employee-Security Guard.
    3. Employee-Private Detective (can be armed or unarmed)
    HAWAII

    Hawaii requires all security guards to be licensed.

    Hawaii has recently passed very stringent requirement to become an unarmed or armed security guard.  It is almost as difficult as the application requirements to be a police officer.

    Contact The Hawaii Board of Private Detectives and Guards.  They are located in Honolulu and their phone number is (808) 586-3000. 

    Website:    http://hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl/boards/private/

    Requirements:

    1. Be a minimum of 18 years old.
    2. High school diploma or GED.
    3. Full background check.
    4. No criminal convictions.
    5. Pass a written test.
    6. Have past experience as a private guard or police officer.
    7. Most applicants have military or out-of-state experience.
    8. Be a U.S. citizen and a state resident.
    9. Armed guards must have weapons training.
    IDAHO

    Idaho does not require a license or training to be an armed security guard.

    The security guard employer will register their guards with the state.  Requirements for an armed security guard are based on city and county requirements.  Below are some of the basic requirements:

    1. Be at least 21 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a valid Idaho driver’s license.
    4. No criminal record.
    5. Be in good physical condition.
    6. Have at least one year of experience as an armed guard.
    ILLINOIS

    Illinois requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The security guard license is regulated by The Illinois Department of Professional Regulation.  They are located in Springfield.  Website:  http://www.state.il.us/dpr/

    The security guard website is:  http://www.idfpr.com/dpr/who/secure.asp

    Requirements:

    1. Unarmed:  minimum 18 years old.  Armed:  minimum 21 years old.
    2. Pass a background check with no criminal history.
    3. Be a high school graduate or have a GED.
    4. Have a valid state driver’s license.
    5. Unarmed guards must have 20 hours of state certified training.
    6. Be a U.S. citizen.
    7. Armed guards must complete an additional 20 hours of state certified weapons training.
    INDIANA

    The state of Indiana requires all security guards to be licensed.

    Armed and unarmed security guards will apply for licensing with The Private Detective Licensing Board.  They are located in Indianapolis and their phone number is (317) 232-2980.   Website:    http://www.in.gov/pla/pisg.htm

    Requirements:

    1. Unarmed guards must be at least 18 years old.
    2. Armed guards must be at lease 21 years old.
    3. Pass a background check.
    4. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    5. Submit to drug testing.
    6. No felony convictions.
    7. Complete the state certified training for either unarmed or armed guards.
    8. Training must be certified by The Department of Public Safety.
    9. Must be a U.S. citizen and a resident of Indiana.
    10. Have a valid state driver’s license.
    IOWA

    State license is required for all security guards.

    Security guard licenses are issued by The Iowa Department of Public Safety in Des Moines.  You can call them at  (515) 725-6230.  Website:  www.dps.state.ia.us/

    Requirements:

    1. Unarmed guards must be at least 18 years old.
    2. Armed guards must be at least 21 years old.
    3. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    4. Submit to a background check, have no criminal history.
    5. Have no history with drugs or alcohol.
    6. Complete the state certified training course.
    7. Pass a written test.
    8. Be a U.S. citizen and resident of the state.
    9. Armed guards must have a weapon’s permit and required training.
    KANSAS

    Kansas requires all security guards to be licensed.

    Security guard licenses are regulated and issued by The Office of Attorney General in Topeka.  You can also call the PI licensing unit at (785) 368-6468  Website:  ag.ks.gov 

    Requirements:

    1. Unarmed guards must be at least 18 years old.
    2. Armed guards must be at least 21 years old.
    3. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    4. Submit to a background check, have no criminal history.
    5. Have no history with drugs or alcohol.
    6. Complete the state certified training course.
    7. Pass a written test.
    8. Be a U.S. citizen and resident of the state.
    9. Know the Kansas law pertaining to security guards.
    10. Armed guards must have a weapon’s permit and required training.
    KENTUCKY

    Kentucky does not license security guards.

    Any business with a business license can supply security guards.  There are general requirements to be an armed guard in Kentucky.

    Armed guard general requirements:

    1.  Must be at least 21 years old and a U.S. citizen.
    2.  Passed a background check and drug test.
    3.  Submit an application to The Kentucky Board of Licensing  in Frankfort. (502) 564-3296.
    4.  Completed security guard training and weapons training.
    5.  Never convicted of a felony.

    LOUISIANA

    Louisiana requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The security guard license (unarmed and armed) is regulated by The Secretary of State in Baton Rouge.  Their phone number is (504) 925-4704.  Website:    http://www.sos.louisiana.gov/

    Requirements for an armed license:

    1. Minimum of 21 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a background check.
    4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
    5. No felony convictions.
    6. Complete state required training (16 hours).
    7. Complete state required firearms training.
    MAINE

    There is no individual license requirement for security guards. 

    Each security employer is required to register their security guards with the state police.  For further information contact The State Police (licensing division), in Augusta.  Their phone number is (207) 624-8775.

    MARYLAND

    Maryland requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The security guard license (unarmed and armed) is regulated by The Maryland State Police (PI Licensing Division) in Jessup.  Their phone number is (410) 799-0191.  Website:    http://www.mdsp.org

    Requirements for an armed license:

    1. Minimum of 21 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a background check.
    4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
    5. No felony convictions.
    6. Complete state required security guard training.
    7. Complete state required firearms training.
    MASSACHUSETTS

    There is no individual licensing requirement for security guards.  Each security company will register their guards with the state police.

    You can contact The Massachusetts State Police (Special Licensing Unit), in Boston for more information.  Their phone number is (617) 727-6128.  Contact one of the larger security firms to obtain their requirements for being hired.
     
    MICHIGAN

    Michigan does not require individual licensing for security guards.  Each security company will register their guards with The Department of State Police (Private Security & Investigative Section),  in Lansing.

    You can contact the state police at (517) 322-1964, for more information.  You can also call some of the larger security firms and see what their requirements are for being hired.

    MINNESOTA

    There is no state license or training required for the individual security guards.  That is all required and completed at the security firms.  Each security company will report individual guard hires to the Department of Public Safety.

    The security employer is required to perform background checks, training and obtain a picture I.D. guard card for each individual hired.  You can contact the Department of Public Safety (Protective Agent Services Board), in St. Paul, by calling (612) 215-1753.
     
    MISSISSIPPI

    The state of Mississippi does not require a state license for individual security guards.

    Each security company is required to submit information on individual guards to the state, when the guard is hired.  You can contact the security firms directly to learn their requirements.

    MISSOURI

    Missouri has no requirement for a state license.  There are individual city license requirements for Kansas City, St. Louis, St. Joseph, Springfield and Joplin.

    Contact security firms in the city you want to work and find out their requirements.

    MONTANA

    Montana does not require individual licensing or registration for security guards.

    For more information contact The Board of Private Patrolmen & Investigators in Helena.  Their phone number is (406) 841-2387 or (406) 444-3728.

    NEBRASKA

    Nebraska has no individual license requirement for security guards.

    You can contact local security firms to learn what they are looking for in a guard, or call The Secretary of State's office.  They regulate the security firms and might be able to help you.  Their phone number is (402) 471-2554 and they are located in The State Capital Building in Lincoln.
     
    NEVADA

    Nevada requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The security guard license (unarmed and armed) is regulated by The State of Nevada, Attorney General (Nevada Private Investigators License Board) in Carson City.  Their phone number is (775) 687-3225.  You can also talk to the local Sheriff’s office to apply for a license.

    Requirements for an armed license:

    1. Minimum of 21 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a background check.
    4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
    5. No felony convictions.
    6. Complete state required security guard training.
    7. Complete state required firearms training.
    8. Casinos provide additional training, but you need a state license first to apply.
    NEW HAMPSHIRE

    New Hampshire requires all security guards to have a state license.

    For a security guard license (unarmed and armed) you will need to apply with The State Police (Division of Licenses and Permits.  They are located in Concord and you can call them at (603) 271-3575.

    Requirements for an armed license:

    1. Minimum of 21 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a background check.
    4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
    5. No felony convictions.
    6. File a surety bond.
    7. Complete state required firearms training.
    8. Submit an application.
    9. There is an annual firearms training and qualification.
    NEW JERSEY

    New Jersey requires all security guards to be licensed.

    For a security guard license (unarmed and armed) you will need to apply with The State Police  (Department of Law & Public Safety – Private Detective Unit).  They are located in West Trenton .  Their website for security guard information and forms is:    http://www.njsp.org/about/private-detective.html

    Requirements for an armed license:

    1. Minimum of 18 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a background check.
    4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
    5. No felony convictions.
    6. Complete state security guard training. (24 hours)
    7. Complete state required firearms training.
    8. Submit an application.
    9. There is an annual firearms training and qualification.
    NEW MEXICO

    New Mexico requires all security guards to be licensed.

    For a security guard license (unarmed and armed) you will need to apply with The Bureau of Private Investigators in Santa Fe.  Their phone number is (505) 827-7172.

    Requirements for an armed license:

    1. Minimum of 21 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a background check submitted by your security employer,
    4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
    5. No felony convictions.
    6. Complete state security guard training.
    7. Complete state required firearms training.
    8. Submit an application.
    9. There is an annual firearms training and qualification.
    10. You must have a job commitment from a licensed security company.
    11. Complete and pass a state written exam.
    NEW YORK

    New York requires a license for all security guards.

    For a security guard license (unarmed and armed) you will need to apply with The Department of State – Division of Licensing Service.  They are located in Albany .  Website:  http://www.nysecurityguard,org   or  http://www.dos.state.ny.us/licensing/securityguard/squard.html

    Requirements for an armed license:

    1. Minimum of 21 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a background check.
    4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
    5. No felony convictions.
    6. Complete state security guard training. (8 hours)
    7. Complete state required firearms training.
    8. Submit an application.
    9. There is an annual firearms training and qualification.
    10. You must have a job commitment from a licensed security company with on-the-job training.
    NORTH  CAROLINA

    North Carolina requires all security guards to be licensed.

    For a security guard license (unarmed and armed) you will need to apply with The Private Protective Services Board in Raleigh.  Their phone number is (919) 662-4387.

    Requirements for an armed license:

    1. Minimum of 21 years old.
    2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
    3. Have a background check.
    4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
    5. No felony convictions.
    6. Complete state security guard training.
    7. Complete state required firearms training.
    8. Submit an application.
    9. There is an annual firearms training and qualification.
    10. You must have a job commitment from a licensed security company.
    NORTH DAKOTA

    North Dakota does not require any individual state license.  The security employer will register their guards with the state.

    For information you can contact a security company or The Private Investigative & Security Board in Bismarck.  Their phone number is (701) 222-3063.

    OHIO

    Ohio does not require any individual state license.  Each security company will register their new guards with the state.

    For information contact a security company or call the Ohio Department of Public Safety - Private Investigator/Security Guard Section in Columbus.  Their phone number is (614) 466-4130.

    OKLAHOMA

    Oklahoma requires all security guards to be licensed,

    The Security Guard License is issued by the Council on Law Enforcement Education & Training.  They are located in Oklahoma City and their phone number is (405) 425-2775.  Website:   http://www.ok.gov/cleet/

    Requirements for armed license:  (3 year license)

    1.  Completed application

    2.  Background check.

    3.  Letter of employment from a licensed security company.

    4.  Proof or experience.

    5.  Complete state certified training.  (40 hours)

    6.  Complete state certified weapons training (32 hours)

    7.  Pass state written exam.

    8.  Continuing education is required.

    9.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    OREGON

    Oregon requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The Security Guard License is issued by The Department of Public Safety Standards & Training.  They are located in Salem and their phone number is (503) 378-8531

    Website:   http://www.oregon.gov/dpsst/ps/index.shtml

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 21 years old.

    3.  Background check.

    4.  Complete state certified training.  (12 hours)

    5.  Continuing education is required.

    6.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    7.  Complete state certified weapons training (24 hours)

    PENNSYLVANIA

    Pennsylvania does require a state license for security guards.

    The Security Guard License in Pennsylvania is handled by the individual county clerk’s office and the county district attorney, in the county you want to work.  There are state regulations, but the county is your first step to apply.  You can also call the local state police office in your county, for more information (they do the background check).  In addition, you can call the Pennsylvania County Clerk’s office at (570) 517-3387.

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 18 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check by the state police.

    5.  Complete state certified training.  (40 hours)

    6.  Complete state regulated weapons training.

    7.  Continuing education is required.

    8.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    RHODE ISLAND

    Rhode Island does require all security guards to be licensed.

    The Security Guard License in Rhode Island is handled by The State Attorney General’s office.  Federal guidelines now require that all security guards be fingerprinted for a national background check. BCI ( Bureau of Criminal Identification) is charged with ensuring that all security guard companies, their employees and management personnel comply with the Act.   The AG’s main location is in Providence and their phone number is (401) 274-4400         Website:   www.riag.ri.gov

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 18 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check by the BCI.

    5.  Complete state certified training.

    6.  Continuing education is required.

    7.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    8   No felony convictions.

    9.  You must have an employer statement that they will hire you.

    10.  Complete state required weapons training.

    SOUTH CAROLINA

    South Carolina requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The  security guard license is issued by the State Law Enforcement Division – Regulatory Services.  They are located in Columbia and their phone number is (803) 737-9000    Website:  www.sled.sc.gov/

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 18 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check .

    5.  Complete state certified training.

    6.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    7   No felony convictions.

    8.  Complete state required weapons training.

    SOUTH DAKOTA

    South Dakota does not require security guards to be licensed.

    South Dakota does not require unarmed security officers to be licensed.  Realize that security firms will require you to have experience as a security guard or training as a security guard.  Contact a security company to learn their requirements.  As an armed security guard you must complete weapons training and obtain a weapons permit.

    TENNESSEE

    Tennessee requires security guards to be licensed.

    The Tennessee license is issued by the Department of Commerce & Insurance in Nashville.  Their phone number is (615) 741-6382.    Website:   www.state.tn.us/commerce/index.shtml

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 18 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check.

    5.  Complete state certified training.

    6.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    7   No felony convictions.

    8.  Complete state required weapons training.

    TEXAS

    Texas requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The Texas license is issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety in Austin.  Their phone number is (512) 424-7710.    Website:   www.txdps.state.tx.us/

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 18 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check.

    5.  Complete state certified training. (30 hours)

    6.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    7   No felony convictions.

    8.  Complete state required weapons training.

    UTAH

    Utah requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The Utah license is issued by the Department of Public Safety & Law Enforcement Services in Salt Lake City.  Their phone number is (801) 965-4461.    Website:   http://publicsafety.utah.gov/

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 18 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check.

    5.  Complete state certified training. (30 hours)

    6.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    7   No felony convictions.

    8.  Complete state required weapons training.

    VERMONT

    Vermont requires a state license for all security guards.

    The Vermont license is issued by the Board of Private Investigation and Armed Security Services, located in Montpelier.  Their phone number is (802) 828-2837.    Website:   http://vtprofessionals.org/opr1/pi_security/

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 18 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check.

    5.  Complete state certified training. (30 hours)

    6.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    7   No felony convictions.

    8.  Complete state required weapons training.

    9   Pass a written test.

    10.Have a valid state driver’s license.

    VIRGINIA

    Virginia requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The Virginia license is issued by the Department of Criminal Justice Services in Richmond.  Their phone number is (804) 786-4700.    Website:   www.dcjs.virginia.gov/

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 21 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check.

    5.  Complete state certified training. (18 hours)

    6.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    7   No felony convictions.

    8.  Complete state required weapons training.

    9   Pass a written test.

    10.Have a valid state driver’s license.

    WASHINGTON

    Washington requires all security guards to be licensed.

    The state of Washington’s license is issued by the Public Protection Services Section in Olympia.      Website:   http://access.wa.gov/services.aspx

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 21 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check.

    5.  Complete state certified training.

    6.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    7   No felony convictions.

    8.  Complete state required weapons training.

    9.  Have a valid state driver’s license.

    WEST VIRGINIA

    There is no  individual license requirement for security guards.

    The state does not require any individual state license for security guards.  The security employer will register their new guards with the Secretary of State.  You need to contact a security company to see what their requirements are to get hired.

    WISCONSIN

    Wisconsin requires security guards to be licensed.

    The state of Wisconsin license is issued by the Department of Regulation & Licensing in Madison.  Their phone number is (608) 266-0829.      Website:   http://drl.wi.gov/

    Requirements for armed license: 

    1.  Completed application

    2.  At least 21 years old.

    3.  Have a high school diploma or GED.

    4.  Background check.

    5.  U.S. citizen and state resident.

    6   No felony convictions.

    7.  Complete state required weapons training.

    8.  Have a valid state driver’s license.

    WYOMING

    There is no requirement for a security guard license.

    The state of Wyoming does not require any licensing or registration for security guards.  Check with local security firms for information.

    CANADA

    Security guard licenses are required in each province.

    Basic requirements :

    Eligible to work in Canada

    Minimum of 18 years old.

    No criminal record.

    Take the provincial training course.

    Apply for the license through your provincial government.

    Complete the written test

    Pass a written exam.


     

     Security Guard
     Correctional Officer
     Bounty Hunter
     Police Officer
    Become a Security Guard
    Police Officer Duties
     
     
     
     
     
    Unarmed Qualifications
     Private Investigator
     Skip Tracer
     Self-Defense
     
     
    Armed State Requirements
     
     
     
     
     
     
     Copyright  2013
     Security Guard Training Tips
     All Rights Reserved